A conversation not to be forgotten!

Today I was working in the front garden. I was digging out Grape Hyacinths and Bluebells that are always threatening to overtake every other plant.

A lady stopped to pass the time of day.  She lives fairly close by and I see her often, and wave. Occasionally we have a brief chat.

Today, she greeted me with, “Oh, I didn’t realise that you lived there, so close to me!” She told me that she was Secretary of the local Allotment Society, and how busy that kept her. She also informed me that she had a pacemaker fitted, and how it had given her a new lease of life.

The conversation progressed along traditional lines and then she set off to continue her journey home.

I did not let on that we had had an identical conversation last time she passed by when I was gardening at the front, almost at the same spot.

As she left I said, “I’m Peter by the way!”

She reminded me of her name.

For the life of me, I cannot remember what it is!!

13 thoughts on “A conversation not to be forgotten!

  1. Thank you for noticing one of my comments. My Mom is losing her memory but much older than you. Names which don’t fit the person won’t stick well. Anyone named one of my exes names will not be remembered since they permanently have a place with a different face in my past history in my mind. Chuckling a bit since she should remember neighbors! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

