Why

white_poppy_460_230-2

As I grow old and time goes by
I sometimes pause to wonder why
That those less fortunate than I
Died young

They lie, now peacefully, at rest
But which of them could e’er have guessed
How their lives so full of zest
Should end

They rest together row on row
But how could we expect to know
What sacrifice against the foe
They made

We thank you Lord for those who died
We that live can now decide
To live in peace with you beside
Us all

© petermatthews2015

8 thoughts on “Why

  1. Pingback: Expressing my Gratitude! | Mind and Life Matters

  2. Beautiful! Poppies, yes? I wanted to let you know I hit publish too early on my “diary” post! I’ve reverted to draft and will post tomorrow morning! Please check back then! And thank you for commenting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

