Take me

_72160552_97764402_getty_graphic_soldier_andfield_of_poppies

Take me for a soldier
let me join the strife
let me fight the enemy
but please don’t tell my wife
She thinks I’ve been conscripted
she thinks I have to go
please don’t tell her otherwise
she doesn’t need to know

Take me to the battle
with bayonet and gun
to fight for King and country
and so defeat the Hun
and if I should be injured
or even worse should die
please ensure my lovely wife
shall never hear the lie

Leave a Reply

